DorobekINSIDER: GSA’s Martha Johnson to be sworn in Tuesday, Feb. 9

Less then 12 hours after she was confirmed by the Senate, GSA soon-to-be-sworn-in administrator Martha Johnson has reached out to GSA staff — and is seeking their questions and ideas.

The note confirms what the DorobekINSIDER told you — that the official swearing in will be take place Tuesday, Feb. 9 at 2p at GSA headquarters.

The note sent out to staff today:

On Thursday, Feb. 4, the U.S. Senate confirmed Martha N. Johnson as Administrator of General Services. We are excited to welcome her back to our family. On Tuesday, Feb. 9, at 2 pm EST, we will host a swearing-in town hall, which will be broadcast live on GSA InSite. You will be able to witness Martha taking the Oath of Office and ask her questions about the future of GSA. For Central Office employees the event will be held in the GS Building Auditorium; for those in the region, we hope you will join us live via InSite. If you would like to submit a question for Martha, do so at

We hope to see you there!

Martha brings to GSA the combination of experience and a record of leadership in both the public and private sectors. Most recently, she served as co-lead for the Obama Presidential Transition Agency Review Team for GSA. Martha served as GSA Chief of Staff from 1996 to 2001, under then Administrator David Barram. From 1993 to 1996, she was Assistant Deputy Secretary at the Department of Commerce. Under the Clinton Administration, Martha also served in the Office of Presidential Personnel.

Since 2007, Martha has served as Vice President of Culture at Computer Sciences Corporation, helping to direct a change in corporate culture within the 90,000-person organization. Previously, she was Vice President at SRA International, managing a strategic consulting group that served federal clients.

Martha received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Oberlin College and Master of Business Administration from Yale University.

Copyright © 2023 Federal News Network. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.