Monday’s Sports Transactions


DETROIT TIGERS — Agreed to terms with The list of signed players includes: RHPs Victor Alcantara, Sandy Baez, Buck Farmer, Reed Garrett, Eduardo Jimenez, Joe Jimenez, Franklin Perez, Zac Reininger, Spencer Turnbull and Drew VerHagen; LHPs Ryan Carpenter, Jose Fernandez, Matt Hall, Gregory Soto and Daniel Stumpf; Cs Grayson Greiner and John Hicks; INFs Sergio Alcantara, Jeimer Candelario, Willi Castro, Brandon Dixon, Niko Goodrum, Dawel Lugo and Ronny Rodríguez; and OFs JaCoby Jones, Mikie Mahtook, Dustin Peterson, Victor Reyes and Christin Stewart on one-year contracts.

National League

CHICAGO CUBS — Activated SS Addison Russell from the restricted list.

NEW YORK METS — Named Al Leiter and John Franco baseball operations advisers.

PHILADELPHIA PHILLIES — Signed OF Miguel Tejeda Jr. to a minor league contract.

SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS — CEO Larry Baer is taking a leave of absence.

American Association

BOARD OF DIRECTORS — Named Joshua E. Schaub commissioner.

National Football League

HOUSTON TEXANS — Placed the franchise tag on DE/LB Jadeveon Clowney.

National Hockey League

LOS ANGELES KINGS — Recalled F Matt Luff from Ontario (AHL).

NEW YORK RANGERS — Agreed to terms with D Joey Keane on an entry-level contract.

American Hockey League

HARTFORD WOLF PACK — Released F Zac Lynch from a professional tryout.

MILWAUKEE ADMIRALS — Recalled F Matt Lane from Atlanta (ECHL).

Major League Soccer

MLS — Promoted JoAnn Neale to president and chief administrative officer and Gary Stevenson to deputy commissioner and president of MLS Business Ventures.

MINNESOTA UNITED — Signed M Ally Hamis Ng’anzi on a one-year loan from MFK Vyskov (Moravskoslezska Fotbalova Liga-Czech Republic) and loaned him to Forward Madison FC (USL) for the 2019 season.

National Women’s Soccer League

ORLANDO PRIDE — Signed G Haley Kopmeyer, D Tony Pressley and Fs Camila, Rachel Hill and Danica Evans.

WASHINGTON SPIRIT — Signed D Sam Staab, D/F Tegan McGrady and Ms Jordan DiBiasi, Dorian Bailey and Bayley Feist.


ITF — Named Jack Anderson, Brian Havill, David Howman and Urvasi Naidoo to the ethics commission.


BIG TEN CONFERENCE — Announced commissioner Jim Delaney will step down at the end of his contract on June 30, 2020.

HOFSTRA — Named Gerry Lucey associate head women’s soccer coach.

OKLAHOMA STATE — Added the title of associate head football coach to receivers coach Kasey Dunn.

UTAH — Signed football coach Kyle Whittingham to a contract extension.

Copyright © 2021 . All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.


Sign up for breaking news alerts