Finalists for Service to America Medals announced

The Partnership for Public Service announced today the 33 Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medal Finalists. The awards recognize outstanding employees in the federal workforce.

As part of Public Service Recognition Week, the finalists will be recognized on Wednesday, May 9, in Washington, D.C. Federal News Radio will be interviewing the finalists before the September awards ceremony.

Nine Service to America Medals, including the Federal Employee of the Year award, will be presented on Sept. 13, at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, in Washington, D.C. The winners of those medals will be chosen from the list of finalists announced today.

The finalists are:

Call to Service Medal

  • Shane Morris, State Department
  • Jacob Taylor, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Deborah Temkin, Education Department

Career Achievement Medal

  • James Cash, National Transportation Safety Board
  • H. Allen Dobbs, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
  • Patricia Hayes, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Lynne Mofenson, National Institutes of Health

Citizen Services Medal

  • Heidi King, Defense Department
  • James Battles, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Livia Marques, Agriculture Department
  • Michael A. McBride, Internal Revenue Service
  • Lance Rodewald, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Homeland Security Medal

  • Arthur M. Friedlander, U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases
  • Kelly Menzie-Degraff and Team, Corporation for National and Community Service
  • Nael Samha and Thomas Roland Jr., Customs and Board Protection
  • Daniel Stoneking, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Justice and Law Enforcement Medal

  • Shauna Henline, Internal Revenue Service
  • Michael Hertz, Justice Department
  • Kelly Maltagliati, Natiional Archives and Records Administration
  • Louis Milione and the DEA Team, Drug Enforcement Administration

Management Excellence Medal

  • Elliott B. Branch, Department of the Navy
  • Danette Campbell, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
  • Arleas Upton Kea, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
  • Joseph Kennedy, Ray Decker and Hakeem Basheerud-Deen, Office of Personnel Management
  • Alice Muellerweiss, Department of Veterans Affairs

National Security and International Affairs Medal

  • Michelle Bernier-Toth, State Department
  • Richard Boly, State Department
  • Joyce Connery, National Security Council
  • Charles Scoville, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center

Science and Environmental Medal

  • Myron “Ron” Diftler and the Robonaut2 Team, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Barbara Linder, National Institutes of Health
  • Kyle Myers, Food and Drug Administration, Center for Devices and Radiological Health
  • Neal Young, National Institutes of Health

To learn more about the awards and the finalists, go to

Copyright © 2023 Federal News Network. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.