WH launches Accountability and Transparency Board

Earl Devaney, Ashton Carter and Danny Werfel are among government leaders named to the White House\'s new Government Accountability and Transparency Board, whic...

By Vyomika Jairam
Federal News Radio

The White House today launched a new board to cut government waste and increase transparency, part of its Campaign to Cut Waste. The Government Accountability and Transparency Board held its first meeting this morning, and will be led by interim chairman Earl Devaney, also chairman of the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board.

Other government leaders named to the board include Defense acquisition chief Ashton Carter, OMB Controller Danny Werfel and USPS Inspector General David Williams.

“Cutting waste, fraud and abuse has been something Washington has talked about for decades, but now more than ever, what the American people need is action,” Vice President Joe Biden said in a release. “That’s why we are tapping the top leaders across government who have been most aggressive in cracking down on waste to drive change and make the government work for our nation’s families. With our nation’s top watchdogs at the helm, we will deliver the kind of transparency and accountability for ederal spending that the public deserves and expects.”

The board is modeled after the Recovery Board, is expected to submit a report to the President on guidelines for implementing the waste-cutting within six months. The board will incorporate lessons learned from government’s tracking of stimulus funding with Recovery.gov.

The board’s members are:

  • Earl E. Devaney – Chairman, Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board
  • Ashton B. Carter – Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology & Logistics, Department of Defense
  • W. Scott Gould – Deputy Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Allison C. Lerner – Inspector General, National Science Foundation
  • Daniel R. Levinson – Inspector General, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Ellen Murray – Assistant Secretary for Financial Resources and Chief Financial Officer, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Calvin L. Scovel III – Inspector General, Department of Transportation
  • Kathleen S. Tighe – Inspector General, Department of Education
  • Daniel I. Werfel – Controller, Office of Management and Budget
  • David C. Williams – Inspector General, United States Postal Service
  • Neal S. Wolin – Deputy Secretary of the Treasury, Department of the Treasury

Read the full release and bios of the boardmembers here.

Copyright © 2024 Federal News Network. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.