Federal News Radio announces winners of Causey Awards

Federal News Radio has chosen seven winners for its inaugural Causey Awards. The awards honor their outstanding achievements and important contributions in the ...

May 24, 2010 – Federal News Radio congratulates the winners of the first annual Causey Awards. This awards program was designed to call attention to an important area within the federal government and industry; the human capital management field.

Over the course of four weeks, Federal News Radio solicited nominations of professionals who had accomplished extraordinary things related to pay, benefits, human resources and human capital issues. The nominations came from far afield and all described excellent work. The winners of The Causey Awards were those whose work made the most impact in 2009.

And the winners are:

  • Jennie Liming, General Services Administration. Ms. Liming created, implemented and manages a program to develop entry level employees into mission critical leaders within GSA’s Federal Acquisition Service. (Hear our interview with Jennie Liming on Monday, May 24, on the Federal Drive with Tom Temin and Amy Morris.)
  • Sabrina Segal, United States Agency for International Development. Ms. Segal developed a wiki to assist in the ethical decision making of her fellow attorneys. (Hear our interview with Sabrina Segal on Monday, May 24, on the DorobekInsider with Chris Dorobek.)
  • Neil Barofsky, Department of Treasury. Mr. Barofsky built the Office of the Special Inspector General for the Troubled Asset Relief Program, from two people to 100 people in one year, doubling his staff every two months by calling upon experienced folks from every agency.
  • Susan Clayton, Internal Revenue Service. Dr. Clayton identified and evaluated emerging and experienced leaders within the IRS’ succession and leadership programs. (Hear our interview with Susan Clayton on Wednesday, May 26, on the Federal Drive with Tom Temin and Amy Morris.)
  • Beverly Malone, Internal Revenue Service. Ms. Malone created a mentoring program for wounded soldiers to gain work experience with the IRS prior to transitioning out of military service.
  • Elizabeth (Kitty) Wooley, Department of Education. Ms. Wooley created unique ways for federal managers to collaborate on best practices through regular meetings and through her own blog. (Hear our interview with Elizabeth Wooley on Friday, May 28, on the DorobekInsider with Chris Dorobek.)
  • Karin O’Leary, Department of Justice. Ms. O’Leary resolved to identify what DoJ’s budget staff did well and what needed improvement and put in place a new recruitment process to improve employee retention. (Hear our interview with Karin O’Leary on Friday, May 28, on the DorobekInsider with Chris Dorobek.)

It is Federal News Radio’s honor to be able to recognize the efforts and passion of these deserving federal employees.

Federal News Radio would also like to thank the judges of the Causey Awards.

  • Bill Bransford, General Counsel, Senior Executives Association
  • Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman, U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board
  • Colleen M. Kelley, National President, National Treasury Employees Union
  • Gail Lovelace, Chief People Officer, General Services Administration
  • Dr. Shelley Metzenbaum, Associate Director for Performance and Personnel Management, Office of Management and Budget
  • Dr. Ron Sanders, Senior Executive Advisor, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Linda Springer, Executive Director, Americas Government & Public Sector, Ernst & Young
  • Molly Wilkinson, Congressional Staff Member

The Causey Award honors Mike Causey, Federal News Radio Senior Correspondent, and his life-long dedication to the reporting of federal workforce management and federal pay and benefits issues.

Copyright © 2024 Federal News Network. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.