GSA’s 18F executive director moving on

Aaron Snow, the executive director of 18F and deputy commissioner of GSA’s Technology Transformation Service, will step down on Oct. 13 and serve as an adviso...

The head of the General Services Administration 18F organization, Aaron Snow, is stepping down.

Snow, however, is not leaving government immediately. GSA Administrator Denise Turner Roth said in a note to staff obtained by Federal News Radio that Snow will move into an advisory role to the incoming commissioner of the Technology Transformation Service (TTS).

Roth said Snow’s last day as executive director of 18F will be Oct. 13.

Aaron Snow is stepping down as the executive director of GSA's 18F organization.
Aaron Snow is stepping down as the executive director of GSA’s 18F organization.

Dave Zvenyach, the acquisition management director at 18F, will take over as the head of the organization on an interim basis.

“When it comes to 18F, perhaps no one has been more instrumental in establishing this organization than Aaron Snow,” Turner Roth said in the email to staff. “One of the first Presidential Innovation Fellows, Aaron was one of the key contributors in building on this successful program to create 18F, and has served as its executive director for the past year.”

Snow also served as deputy commissioner of the new TTS since GSA established it in May. David Shive, the GSA chief information officer, is the acting commissioner of TTS.

Snow replaced Greg Godbout, who left in March 2015 to work at EPA.

Turner Roth said Snow’s term is ending, which could be one reason why he decided to step out of the executive director role. Presidential Innovation Fellows come into government for a one-year program, and many stay in government under the excepted hiring authority the Office of Personnel Management approved for 18F, the U.S. Digital Services Office and a few others under a pilot program. In May 2015, OPM extended this hiring authority to all agencies. Under this approach, agencies can bring in these digital service experts for two-year terms, and usually two one-year options to extend the terms. Snow will be at GSA three years in December.

With Snow leaving, it means the top two leaders of TTS have resigned over the last three-plus months. The first commissioner of TTS, Phaedra Chrousos, left her post July 15.

Additionally, Turner Roth announced Anahita Reilly has removed the interim from her title and now is the chief customer experience officer at GSA.

“During her tenure, she has helped improve everything from tenant satisfaction in our public building portfolio to the contracting process for small businesses and I look forward to seeing her next critical contributions,” Turner Roth said in the email.

Copyright © 2024 Federal News Network. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located within the European Economic Area.

Related Stories

    Election 2024 Trump

    House Oversight panel subpoenas Secret Service director to testify on Trump assassination attempt

    Read more
    APTOPIX Election 2024 Trump

    The Secret Service is investigating how a gunman who shot and injured Trump was able to get so close

    Read more

    Meet something new for NASA — its first chief artificial intelligence officer

    Read more